Reviews / hOmeLabs
hOmeLabs 50 Pint with Pump
All three drainage modes on one machine, plus Wi-Fi, which is a genuinely useful combination. It is also the only listing we have found that quotes its headline capacity at the test condition the DOE retired in 2019.
#adThis page contains affiliate links. We earn a commission on qualifying purchases, at no cost to you, and it never changes a ranking. Full disclosure.

The short answer
The HME1004 offers a bucket, a gravity hose and a built-in pump, plus Wi-Fi control - the most complete drainage set we track. Its capacity figures need care: hOmeLabs states 120 pints at 95F and 90% RH, and 50 pints at 80F and 60% RH, which is the pre-2019 DOE condition, not the current one. hOmeLabs' largest certified machine is 32.46 pints.
Read the small print on the 50
Most listings in this category print one capacity number and leave the condition off. hOmeLabs prints two conditions, which should be a point in its favor, and in a way it is. The problem is which two.
| Figure | Condition stated | What that condition is |
|---|---|---|
| 120 pints/day | 95F, 90% RH | Saturation. A condition no US basement reaches |
| 50 pints/day | 80F, 60% RH | The pre-2019 DOE test condition, retired in the 2019 standard |
| 7,500 sq ft | None given | The largest coverage claim of any unit in our registry |
| DOE capacity at 65F, 60% RH | Not stated | The current standard. No certified entry exists for this model |
Conditions quoted from the hOmeLabs listing, retrieved 2026-09-27. The current DOE test procedure (10 CFR 430 Subpart B Appendix X1) runs at 65F and 60% relative humidity; the previous procedure ran at 80F.
This matters because the two DOE conditions are not close. Warmer air holds more water, so the same machine rates higher at 80F than at 65F - which is exactly why the standard changed and why a pre-2020 "70 pint" unit is today's 50-pint. What the pint number actually means has the full correlation.
So the honest reading of "50 pints at 80F" is: under the test everyone else's number comes from, this machine removes less than 50. How much less, we cannot tell you - which brings us to the other half of the problem.
hOmeLabs' biggest certified machine is 32 pints
32.46 pints
The largest DOE capacity hOmeLabs has in the ENERGY STAR certified file
hOmeLabs has exactly two certified entries: the HME0089 at 32.46 pt/day and IEF 2.01, and the HME0088 at 24.48 pt/day and IEF 1.75. The HME1004 on this listing is not among them. From the ENERGY STAR Certified Dehumidifiers list, retrieved 2026-09-27.
That is not proof that this machine is a 32-pint unit - it is a different model and it may well be larger hardware. It is the reason there is no independent figure, no computed wattage and no annual energy estimate anywhere on this page. Both inputs are missing.
For scale only: the certified 50-pint class runs 443 to 490 W, and hOmeLabs' certified 32-pint computes to 318 W. This machine sits somewhere in that neighborhood, and we are not going to put a number on it.
What it does better than almost anything we track
Set the capacity question aside, because the reason to buy this unit is not capacity. It is that it does not make you choose a drainage strategy at purchase time.
- Bucket, for a room with no drain, with a full-bucket alert.
- Gravity hose, for the usual basement case where the drain is at floor level.
- Built-in pump, for when the drain is above the machine. Most units in this class pick one of the three and commit.
- Wi-Fi, which on a pump model is the combination that makes most sense - a pump is the component most likely to fail silently, and an app is the thing that tells you. What smart actually buys you.
That flexibility is worth real money in a house where you are not certain yet where the machine will live. Buy a gravity-only unit and discover the drain is up a wall, and you are buying twice.

hOmeLabs states 218 CFM in Turbo and 188 CFM in Standard, which is one of the few airflow figures published anywhere in this category. It does not state a pump lift, which is the figure you actually want from a pump model. How far will the pump push it.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Draw | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | All three drainage modes on one machine | Not published | $309.99View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 27, 2026. How we are funded | |
| 2 | A basement whose only drain is upstairs | 487 W | ||
| 3 | A laundry room or basement with the drain up a wall | 487 W | $269.99View on Amazon #ad Price as of September 27, 2026. How we are funded |
hOmeLabs
hOmeLabs 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Pump
Best for: All three drainage modes on one machine

Bucket, gravity hose and a built-in pump in a single unit, carrying the least supportable coverage claim in the category.
Average draw
Not published
No published wattage and no 50-pint hOmeLabs entry in the ENERGY STAR certified list. Class band for certified 50-pint units is 443-490 W, median 488 W.
What is good
- All three drainage modes on one machine - bucket, gravity, or pump
- Drains upward, which is the whole point in a room whose only outlet is above the unit
- Same familiar controls as the rest of the hOmeLabs line
- Auto shut-off and continuous drainage set-up out of the box
What is not
- 7,500 sq ft coverage claim is the highest here and the least supportable
- No ENERGY STAR certification at this capacity, so no published IEF to compute a draw from
- Pump lift and hose length are not stated
Who it is for
Someone who needs a pump, wants the option of all three drainage modes, and is willing to ignore the coverage number entirely.
Skip it if
Skip it if efficiency matters to you. Without a certified IEF there is no published basis for a running-cost figure, and over a season that is real money.
Midea
Midea Cube 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Pump
Best for: A basement whose only drain is upstairs

The stacking Midea Cube with a condensate pump added, which is the difference between a hose you can run and a hose you cannot.
Average draw
487 W
Computed from the ENERGY STAR certified entry for Midea MAD50PS1QWT-A, the pump variant of the same platform: 49.67 pt/day at IEF 2.01 L/kWh. The current retail revision is the -B; every Midea 50-pint Cube revision in the certified list, pump or not, computes to 487-490 W, so the pump does not move the number meaningfully. The pump itself only runs in bursts.
What is good
- Pump means the destination can be higher than the machine - a laundry sink, a window, a stack
- Identical DOE capacity and IEF to the non-pump Cube, so the pump costs you nothing in efficiency
- The split body still works, so you can also run it on gravity and keep the pump as the backup
- Certified 49.67 pt/day, an honest 50-pint rating
What is not
- Costs more than the identical machine without the pump
- A pump is one more thing that can fail, and when it does the unit stops rather than overflows
- No published wattage from Midea - the figure above is computed
Who it is for
Anyone whose drain is above the floor. That is most finished basements and nearly every crawl space.
Skip it if
Skip it if you already have a floor drain within hose reach and below the machine. You would be paying for a pump you will never switch on.
Quilo
Quilo 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Pump
Best for: A laundry room or basement with the drain up a wall

A certified 50-pint pump unit that puts its pump reach in writing - 15 feet, vertically or horizontally - and adds a laundry-drying mode nothing else we track offers.
Average draw
487 W
Computed from the ENERGY STAR certified entry for Quilo QLDAD50PWK - the same model number as this listing: 49.67 pt/day at IEF 2.01 L/kWh. Quilo publishes no wattage itself.
What is good
- States its pump reach - up to 15 feet vertically or horizontally - with the drain tube included
- Exact certified model match, so the 487 W figure describes this machine
- Dedicated laundry mode dries clothes and the room at the same time
- Child lock, thermal overload protection, auto defrost and a clean-filter alert
What is not
- Tank capacity is not stated on the listing
- No Wi-Fi or app is mentioned, so no remote alerts if the pump stops
- A newer brand name with no long track record under this name
Who it is for
Someone who needs a pump to reach a sink or window up to 15 feet away, especially in a laundry room where the drying mode earns its place.
Skip it if
Skip it if you want to be told on your phone when something stops. Nothing on the listing mentions connectivity.
The 7,500 square foot claim
This is the largest coverage figure in our registry, and coverage claims are the least meaningful number on any dehumidifier box. Across the 50-pint machines we track, stated coverage runs from 4,000 to 8,000 square feet for hardware with near-identical certified capacity - a 2x spread that reflects marketing decisions rather than measurement.
Treat 7,500 as a statement of ambition. Size from capacity and dampness instead. Coverage claims explained and what size do I need.
Who should buy something else
- Anyone who needs a verifiable capacity figure. The Midea Cube with pump carries an exact certified match; this does not.
- Anyone who wants a computed running cost. Same reason. There is no certified entry and no published wattage, so there is no honest figure.
- Anyone whose pump route has real height in it. hOmeLabs states no lift. GE and Quilo both state 15 feet.
- Anyone buying on the 7,500 square feet. That is not a specification you can plan a purchase around.
What we did not do
We have not run this unit, measured extraction at either condition, tested the pump or used the app. Every figure above is quoted from the hOmeLabs listing or read from the ENERGY STAR certified file. The observation about 80F is a statement about which test condition the listing names, not a claim about how this machine performs. How we work.
FAQ
Questions
Is the hOmeLabs HME1004 really a 50 pint dehumidifier?
How many watts does the hOmeLabs 50 pint with pump use?
Does the hOmeLabs dehumidifier have Wi-Fi?
How high can the hOmeLabs pump lift water?
Can the hOmeLabs really cover 7,500 square feet?
Sources
Sources
- hOmeLabs Dehumidifier 7,500 Sq Ft 50 Pint with Pump 120 Pint 95F 90% RH, model HME1004 - Amazon.com listing stating up to 50 pints per day at 80F and 60% RH, 120 pints maximum at 95F and 90% RH, 7,500 sq ft, 218 CFM Turbo and 188 CFM Standard, Wi-Fi remote control, built-in pump, Comfort/Turbo/Continuous modes, check-filter indicator, 19.7 x 15.2 x 10 in, 30.5 lb (retrieved 2026-09-27)
- ENERGY STAR Certified Dehumidifiers list - hOmeLabs HME0089 at 32.46 pt/day and IEF 2.01, HME0088 at 24.48 pt/day and IEF 1.75; no entry for HME1004 (retrieved 2026-09-27)
- 10 CFR Part 430 Subpart B Appendix X1 - the current DOE uniform test method for dehumidifiers, which sets the 65F / 60% RH condition
Read next
- hOmeLabs 50 Pint DehumidifierCertified 50 pints, sold as 7,000 sq ft - the widest gap between a measurement and a claim in our registry.
- The best dehumidifiers with a built-in pumpFive pump-equipped units, ranked partly on which makers will state what their pump can actually reach.
- What the pint number on a dehumidifier actually meansThe 2019 DOE test change, the official conversion table, and the saturation rating that is 3x the certified one.
- The best smart dehumidifiersFour connected units compared on what the app really buys you - which is being told the machine has stopped.
- How far will the pump actually push it?Three of seven pump models state a lift. What they say, and how to plan when a maker states nothing.
- The square footage on the box is not a specificationIdentical certified capacity, coverage claims 1.9x apart. What the number is, and what to size from instead.